The Minimalist NBA Project Part 3: Central Division

Welcome to the third edition of TSMP’s Minimalist NBA Project. This week we’re redesigning the Central Division team logos in a clean and simple style, which will also complete the 15 Eastern Conference teams.

This Division features one of the most iconic NBA teams of all time, the Chicago Bulls, who won six Championships during the 90s under the leadership of Michael Jordan. They’re joined by three-time champions, the Detroit Pistons, and one-time winners, the Milwaukee Bucks. Rounding out the teams are the Indiana Pacers and the LeBron-led Cleveland Cavaliers, both of which are looking for their first NBA Championship; perhaps a new logo might bring them new luck?

So here’s The Minimalist NBA Project Part 3: The Central Division.


Chicago Bulls

The Windy City…


Cleveland Cavaliers

The sword was an element of their original logo and was brought back for the LeBron Era.


Detroit Pistons

This is a subtle reference to the text in their iconic 80s logo.


Indiana Pacers

The 500 is a nod to the famous Indy race where the team name comes from.


Milwaukee Bucks

This is based on their new logo from this season.



The Central Division


Part 4 will move on to the Western Conference, and first up will be the Northwest Division.

You can check out the other posts here:

Part 1: The Atlantic Division

Part 2: The Southeast Division

Part 4: The Northwest Division

Part 5: The Southwest Division

Part 6: The Pacific Division

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s